Mizoram University was established on 2nd July 2001 by the Mizoram University Acts 2000. It is a central university under University Grant Commissions. The campus of the college is spread over more than 978 Acre with lush greenery and serene hills that makes the campus serene. Right now, Mizoram University is functioning with 8 schools and 35 departments. With the affiliation of UGC and “A” Grade accreditation of NAAC, the University has total 34 affiliates that consists 31 undergraduate colleges, 2 professional institutes and 1 constituent college.

Established         :  2nd July 2001
Vice Chancellor  :   Prof. R. Lalthantluanga
Location              :   Aizawl, Mizoram, India
Affiliations          :   UGC, “A” grade from NAAC, AIU
Website              :  www.mzu.edu.in

College Affiliates :

  • Pachhunga University College, The constituent college
  • Aizawl North College
  • Regional Institutes of paramedical and nursing, Aizawl
  • National Institute of Electronics and Information Technology, Aizawl
  • Mamit College
For more information on affiliated colleges, log on to

School of Life sciences:

  • Botany: M. Sc., Ph. D.
  • Zoology: M. Sc., Ph. D.
  • Biotechnology: M. Sc., Ph. D.

School of Education & Humanities:

  • Mizo: M. A., Ph. D.
  • English: M. A., M. Phil., Ph. D.
  • Education: M. A., Ph. D.
  • Hindi: M. A., Ph. D.

School of Physical Science:

  • Physics: M. Sc., Ph. D.
  • Chemistry: M. Sc., Ph. D.
  • Mathematics: M. Sc., Ph. D.
  • Computer science: M. Sc., Ph. D.

School of Engineering & Technology:

  • Information Technology: B. Tech.
  • Electronics & Communication Engineering: B. Tech.
  • Computer Engineering: B. Tech.
  • Electrical Engineering: B. Tech.

School of Social Sciences:

  • Psychology:  M. A., Ph. D.
  • Social work: M. S. W., M. Phil., Ph. D.
  • Political Science: M. A., Ph. D.
  • History & Ethnography: M. A., Ph. D.
  • Public Administration: M. A., Ph. D.

School of Earth Sciences & Natural Resources Management

  • Geology: M. Sc., Ph. D.
  • Forestry (Agro Forestry): M. Sc., Ph. D.
  • Geography: M. Sc., Ph. D.
  • Horticulture, Aromatic and Medicinal Plants: M. Sc., Ph. D.
  • Environmental Sciences: M. Sc., Ph. D.

School of Economics Management & Information Sciences

  • Commerce: M. Com., Ph. D.
  • Economics: M. A., M. Phil., Ph. D.
  • Management: M. B. D., Ph. D.
  • Library and Information Science: M. L. I. S., M. Phil., Ph. D.
  • Mass Communication: MJMC