Through an Act of Parliament, on 19th July, 1973, the North -Eastern Hill University (NEHU) was established. The university caters its services to Meghalaya state mainly. With an “A” grate from NAAC and affiliation from UGC, NEHU has now affiliated 53 undergraduate colleges with eight professional colleges. Though the university is lacking of infrastructure and a permanent campus, NEHU has provided quality education to all recipients and got the recognition as one of the central universities of India. NEHU has 16th rank among the best Universities of India as per India today AC-Nielsen Best University survey. The university also holds world ranking 1821 as per Academic performance. Right now NEHU has working with two campuses , one is in Shillong and second is in Tura .

Established              :  19th July, 1973
Vice Chancellor       :   Prof. Prabodh Shukla
Location                   :   Shilong, Meghalaya, India
Affiliations               :  UGC, “A” grade from NAAC
Website                    :    

College affiliates:

  • St. Edmund’s College
  • Lady Keane College
  • Shillong Commerce College
  • Mendipathar College
  • Shillong Law College

For more information on affiliated colleges, log on to


Master of Arts (M.A.) in

  • Anthropology
  • Adult & Continuing Education
  • Economics
  • Education
  • English
  • Folkloristics
  • Geography
  • History
  • Hindi
  • Khasi
  • Linguistic
  • Philosophy
  • Political science
  • Sociology
  • Journalism and Mass Communication

Master of Science (M. Sc.) in

  • Anthropology
  • Botany/Plant Molecular Biology
  • Biotechnology
  • Biochemistry
  • Chemistry
  • Environmental Science
  • Geography
  • Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Statistics
  • Zoology

Master of Commerce (M. Com.)
Master of Library & Information science
Master of Education

M. Phil. In

  • Mathematics
  • History
  • Linguistics
  • Statistics
  • Geography
  • Economics

P. G. Diploma

  • Music
  • Paintings
  • Geoinformatics

 Courses offered under these departments in Tura Campus:

  • Department of Agricultural Production & Rural Development
  • Department of Management
  • Department of English
  • Department of Garo
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Agri-Business Management & Food Technology
  • Department of Computer Applications
  • Department of History & Archaeology
  • Department of Horticulture