patna-university1917 was the year, when the Patna University was established as an affiliation and examining body and on 2nd January 1952, the university was converted into a teaching cum residential university under the territorial jurisdiction of Patna metropolitan. The Patna University is having a glorious claim to be the first ever university of Bihar and the 7th oldest university of India. With the 31 postgraduate departments and 10 constituent colleges, the Patna University maintains 4 institutes of psychological research and services, public administration, music and library and information science. The Patna University is also running various professional institutes and colleges of management, computer application, law and other fields. The Patna University has 10 college affiliates and 42 departments/institutes/centers under its aegis. Accredited by NAAC and affiliated by UGC, the university has many awards and prominent alumni to be proud of.

Established              :  1917
Vice Chancellor       :   Prof. Yedla C. Simhadri
Location                   :   Patna, Bihar
Affiliations               :   UGC, NAAC
Website                    : 

Colleges Affiliated:

  • B.N. College
  • Patna Science College
  • Magadh Mahila College
  • Patna Women’s College
  • Patna Law College

For more information on study institutes, please log on to 

Faculty of Humanity (M. A.) 

  • English
  • Hindi
  • Sanskrit
  • Maithili
  • Bengali
  • Urdu
  • Arabic
  • Persian
  • Philosophy

Faculty of Social Science (M. A.)

  • PMIR (LSW)
  • Economics
  • Rural Studies
  • History
  • Political Science
  • A.I. H. and Archaeology
  • Sociology
  • Geography
  • Psychology
  • Home science

Faculty of Science (M. SC.)

  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Botany
  • Biochemistry
  • Zoology
  • Geology
  • Mathematics
  • Statistics

B. A.
M. Com.
M. Ed.
L. L. M.
Fine Arts

Apart from these courses, various vocational courses and B. Lib. courses are also conducted in the university.